top of page
Search
  • karachel

Moving, Music and Mayhem

Welcome to my first blog post! Under the wise instruction of a professor at UNC, I've decided to start a semi-regular blog to continue practicing my writing skills. Here goes nothing...


("Hey Siri, wtf is a blog?")

-------


Graduating in the 2020 global pandemic has felt like a slap on the cheek. I feel shorted and angry that my senior year was cut short. However, I also feel thankful for the precautions we're taking to slow the virus down and the lives we are saving by doing so. I admit that I am fearful about the possibility of getting a job during this time. I also feel some relief in the ability to spend time with my family before taking the next step in my journey. Many of the internships I applied to have been shut down, and the companies I want to work for are on hiring freezes. I graduated from the Hussman School of Media and Journalism, so if you're looking for a writer/reporter, hit me up!


I am currently moving out of my apartment in Chapel Hill and back home with my parents. Moving during a pandemic is a new kind of stress. Wearing a mask while donating items and burning my hands with sanitizer every 20 minutes has become a regular routine. I'm patching nail holes and fixing boards on my own (which is absolute mayhem) but it is quite funny to watch myself fail over and over until I get it right. The furniture I have sold has been wiped down with Clorox and put out on the porch to let people safely pick it up. These odd practices and precautions will always stick with me and I am oddly intrigued by the thought of telling my future grandchildren about them.


Many of my friends and family know, but for those who don't, I am a musician. I'm a self-described singer/songwriter and spend most of my free time writing songs, poetry and stories to incorporate into my music. I play guitar and ukulele and sometimes clunk on the piano or keyboard. As much as the pandemic quarantine has sucked, it has provided me with time to focus on music. I've been writing more regularly and plan on releasing an album in the coming summer months. Remaining positive and seeing the blessings that are hidden in this time is hard, but I strive to see them everyday.


This has been my first blog post and I hope you enjoyed. I plan to continue this blog on the topic of being a graduate in 2020 and also a musician during the pandemic. Thanks for reading and God bless!

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page